Thursday, August 23, 2012

AWARD: 2012 NASSS Service Excellence

Call for Nominations for the
2012 NASSS Service Excellence Award
Deadline: September 25th, 2012

Dear NASSS Members,

It is our distinct pleasure to open up the Call for Nominations for the 2012 NASSS Service Excellence Award. The award criteria is as follows.

As an academic society, the North American Society for the Sociology of Sport recognizes individuals who havemade an extraordinary contribution to the sociology of sport and/or service to NASSS. Criteria for what is deemed "distinguished" are necessarily somewhat open-ended. They might reference truly distinguished and long-termcontributions to: (a) NASSS directly; or (b) to the field of sport sociology more generally. Specifically, service as an elected officer of NASSS, by itself, is neither a sufficient nor required criterion. The nomination should encompass a one- to two-page letter that describes in some detail the reasons why NASSS should recognize the recipient. Nominations may be submitted by an individual or jointly by a group of individuals. The recipient need not be a member ofNASSS.

Please submit nomination letters to Dr. Geneviève Rail, the Chair of the 2012 NASSS Service Excellence AwardSelection Committee:

We look forward to reviewing the nominations. The deadline for submission of nominations is now: September 25th, 2012.

Thank you,

Geneviève Rail, Jeffrey Montez de Oca, Fred Mason, Algerian Hart
(2012 NASSS Service Excellence Award Selection Committee)


2011         Gary Sailes (Indiana University)
                  Don Sabo (D'Youville College)
2010         Joe Maguire (Loughborough University)
2009         Susan Birrell (University of Iowa)
                  Harry Edwards (University of California, Berkeley)
2008         Jennifer Hargreaves (Universities of Surrey and Brighton, UK)
                  Richard Lapchick (University of Central Florida)
2007         Mike Malec (Boston College)
                  Mike Messner (University of Southern California, Los Angeles)
2006         Vicky Paraschak (University of Windsor)
2005         Nancy Theberge (University of Waterloo)
2004         Jim Frey (Universities of Nevada - Las Vegas)
2003         John Loy (Universities of Illinois at UC and Otago)
2002         Andrew Yiannakis (University of Connecticut)
                  Susan Greendorfer (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
2001         George Sage (University of Northern Colorado)
                  D. Stanley Eitzen (Colorado State University)
1996         Jay Coakley (University of Colorado - Colorado Springs)
                  Gunther Lueschen (University of Alabama)
                  Lee Vander Velden (University of Maryland)
1993         Gerald Kenyon (Universities of Wisconsin and Waterloo)

No comments: