Wednesday, September 02, 2015

CFN: 2015 NASSS Distinguished Service Award

Call for Nominations for the 2015 NASSS Distinguished Service Award
Deadline for Submission: September 30, 2015
Dear NASSS Members,
It is our distinct pleasure to open up the Call for Nominations for the 2015 NASSS Distinguished Service Award
As an academic society, the North American Society for the Sociology of Sport recognizes individuals who have made a distinguished or extraordinary contribution to the Sociology of Sport and/or service to NASSS. Criteria for what is deemed "distinguished" are necessarily somewhat open-ended but the award is made for contributions in one or more of the following categories:

1. Distinguished, long-term contribution to NASSS and/or Sociology of Sport
2. Impact upon the field of Sociology of Sport
3. Practical impact upon practitioners and scholars in the field

Specifically, service as an elected officer of NASSS, by itself, is neither a sufficient nor required criterion. The nomination should encompass a one- to two-page letter details the reasons why NASSS should recognize the recipient, and the precise nature of the nominee’s contributions. Nominations may be submitted by an individual or jointly by a group of individuals. The recipient need not be a member of NASSS.
Please submit nomination letters to Fritz Polite, the Chair of the 2015 NASSS Distinguished Service Award Selection Committee.  You can also email Fritz for further information:
The Committee, which includes two former award winners, look forward to reviewing the nominations.

The deadline for submission of nominations is September 30, 2015.


2014        R. Vivian Acosta and Linda Jean Carpenter (Professors Emerita,
                 Brooklyn College)
2013      Nancy Spencer (Bowling Green State University)
2012         Merrill Melnick (SUNY) and Peter Donnelly (University of Toronto)
2011         Gary Sailes (Indiana University)
                  Don Sabo (D'Youville College)
2010         Joe Maguire (Loughborough University)
2009         Susan Birrell (University of Iowa)
                  Harry Edwards (University of California, Berkeley)
2008         Jennifer Hargreaves (Universities of Surrey and Brighton, UK)
                  Richard Lapchick (University of Central Florida)
2007         Mike Malec (Boston College)
                  Mike Messner (University of Southern California, Los Angeles)
2006         Vicky Paraschak (University of Windsor)
2005         Nancy Theberge (University of Waterloo)
2004         Jim Frey (Universities of Nevada - Las Vegas)
2003         John Loy (Universities of Illinois at UC and Otago)
2002         Andrew Yiannakis (University of Connecticut)
                  Susan Greendorfer (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
2001         George Sage (University of Northern Colorado)
                  D. Stanley Eitzen (Colorado State University)
1996         Jay Coakley (University of Colorado - Colorado Springs)
                  Gunther Lueschen (University of Alabama)
                  Lee Vander Velden (University of Maryland)

1993         Gerald Kenyon (Universities of Wisconsin and Waterloo).

No comments: